Higher For Hire artwork (Tale Spin)

While cleaning out my storage shed (where I recently discovered the Lost Ark of the Covenant), I came across a lot of Disney TV Animation papers.  There’s a lot of minutiae, but that’s what fans often thrive on.  So I’ll include all the silly bits and variations.

Storage Wars’ wet dream.

Anyway, here are designs for the interior of Higher for Hire from TALE SPIN.  They are labeled Show 31 (Save the Tiger), but that doesn’t seem right to me.  They look like they’re from the pilot mini-series, Plunder and Lightning, since they show the before and after of Rebecca’s ownership.  The approval stamp is faint, but it looks like the date is March 06 1990.  The initial is “L”… for Larry Latham???

The first is a “rendered” or shaded b/w version of Higher for Hire in its original messy state.

Baloo’s messy office looks eerily similar to MY office!!

And here is Layer #2 of that same scene.

Layer #3 (of debris)

Now here is the same illustration un-rendered.

And finally the “After Rebecca” version (without overlay).  Suitable for Rebecca’s child to play in.

Here it is with the overlay.  [Note:  I would imagine all the artwork was by the same artist, but it’s only the last two drawing that contain a name:  “Kelly Day” (who I later worked with on Goof Troop).

6 thoughts on “Higher For Hire artwork (Tale Spin)

  1. Very impressive, there’s so many details on these backgrounds!!! Really professional, clever and beautiful work. I really doubt the newest shows have so much care put into them…
    I think it’ll be very difficult to do something as detailed for the fan game we’re currently trying to make. (but we’re trying!)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I intended to draft you a little remark to
    give many thanks yet again for all the extraordinary pointers you have shown on this website.
    It’s quite seriously open-handed with you to supply publicly precisely what a few people would have advertised as an ebook to make some bucks for themselves, mostly now that you could possibly have done it in the event you decided. The points also served to be a easy way to realize that someone else have the identical passion just as my own to know a great deal more in respect of this condition. I am certain there are thousands of more enjoyable instances up front for those who see your blog post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment