Film Comment autographs

Back in 1975 I purchased a special “animation” issue of Film Comment. I was still stationed at the Pentagon back then… a full year before I knew I’d be working at Disney. But I was a big toon buff even then.

Fortunately, I still had the magazine when I started meeting some animation legends, so I made sure I  got some autographs! Enjoy.

Here’s the cover of that zine.

ComicCon 2014 Souvenir book Scan-160103-0008 copy.jpg

I started work on the Gummi Bears in 1984. Two of the actors we hired were Bill Scott (who played Gruffi Gummi) and June Foray (who placed Grammi Gummi). Here are their signatures.

ComicCon 2014 Souvenir book Scan-160103-0014.jpg

I heard Chuck speak at the Kennedy Center in 1975.

ComicCon 2014 Souvenir book Scan-160103-0015.jpg

Willie Ito has a long and distinguished career in animation from Disney to Warner to Hanna-Barbera. He sat just a couple of offices away from me. (https://www.lambiek.net/artists/i/ito_willy.htm)

ComicCon 2014 Souvenir book Scan-160103-0016.jpg

Cal Howard (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cal_Howard) also sat a few offices away. He worked at Fleischer years ago, so he showed up at work with a friend one day… Jack Mercer, the voice of Popeye!

ComicCon 2014 Souvenir book Scan-160103-0018.jpg

Do you think this magazine is worth more than a buck and a half now?

Leave a Reply

