Animation Autographs

As part of my goal to clean out the rats-nest I call an office, I discovered an old Film Comment magazine from January 1975. Here’s the cover of that zine.

ComicCon 2014 Souvenir book Scan-160103-0008.jpg

At that time I was a Lieutenant JG in the Navy, stationed at the Pentagon… a full year before I knew I’d be working at Disney. But I was a big toon buff even then. This Film Comment issue was devoted to toons, so I snatched it up… primarily because I was going to hear Chuck Jones speak at the Kennedy Center, and I was hoping for an autograph. Long story short, I got Chuck’s signature and carried it with me to California (where I moved the following year to work for Disney). Naturally, I ran into more animation legends in Los Angeles, so I managed to pick up a few more autographs for my magazine. Thought you might like to take a peek. Enjoy.

Here’s Chuck’s signature from 1975. I heard Chuck speak at the Kennedy Center in 1975.

ComicCon 2014 Souvenir book Scan-160103-0015.jpg

Working just a few offices from me in the Roy O. Disney building was Willie Ito, who worked on Chuck Jones’ crew. (Willie also worked for Hanna-Barbera, Beanie & Cecil, and Disney feature animation. He even character-designed for WD TV animation in its infancy.) He sat just a couple of offices away from me. (https://www.lambiek.net/artists/i/ito_willy.htm)

ComicCon 2014 Souvenir book Scan-160103-0016.jpg

Just down the hall from Willie sat CAL HOWARD  (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cal_Howard) who was a Fleischer veteran from the ooooold days. (They even rotoscoped him as the Prince in Gulliver’s Travels.) So one day Cal brings a buddy to the studio, and I hear them talking out in the hallway. And the buddy sounds strangely familiar. It was JACK MERCER – the voice of Popeye!!! Another autograph!

ComicCon 2014 Souvenir book Scan-160103-0018.jpg

And of course, when I moved from Walt Disney Music over to TV Animation in 1984, I had the pleasure of working with these two mega-talents. Bill “Bullwinkle” Scott and June “Rocky” Foray. (She called me “dollink”!) I was doing THE GUMMI BEARS then, and Bill Scott played Gruffi Gummi, and June Foray played Grammi Gummi. Here are their signatures.

ComicCon 2014 Souvenir book Scan-160103-0014.jpg

Do you think this magazine is worth more than a buck and a half now?  🙂   (Naw, I’d never part with it.)

Jymn

Leave a Reply

