WDW Scrapbook – 1

In 1975, I made my first pilgrimage to Walt Disney World. The place had only been open for four years, and it was still teeming with excitement. Being a huge Disney geek, I instantly started a scrapbook of the place when I got home, filling it with postcards, magazine articles, pamphlets, and souvenir books from that time period. Since we’re celebrating WDW’s 45th anniversary next year, here’s a collection of 70’s materials for your enjoyment.

 

I categorized the scrapbook by park area, white-gluing the materials onto the pages with love and care. I started with an OVERVIEW of the place. (Wait, where’s the MGM/Disney Studios? Where’s Animal Kingdom? Typhoon Lagoon? Pleasure Island???)

WDW'75 Scan-151208-0003.jpg

Here’s a close-up of Scrooge McDuck prophetically welcoming me to the company (the following year, 1976) and encouraging me to write for him in the next decade (Duck Tales). Who knew?

WDW'75 Scan-151208-0004.jpg

WDW map guide .jpg

Of course, I had to include a 1971 Time magazine article about WDW’s opening.

WDW'75 Scan-151208-0006.jpg

WDW'75 Scan-151208-0007.jpg

WDW'75 Scan-151208-0011.jpg

An overview of the resort.

WDW'75 Scan-151208-0012.jpg

Tomorrow we zoom in on the Magic Kingdom. See ya.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

