Zacherley – Part 5

Howdy folks!

As you know, ol’ Zacherley showed up in Famous Monsters of Filmland numerous times. In fact he was on the cover at least twice (more, if you count some re-use cover art). Anne Didio dutifully cut out the FMoF articles and put them in her scrapbook. So let’s start with Zach’s first article in FMoF #4 (August 1959).

Internet image

[Cover art for reference. Not from Anne’s scrapbook.]

FM 1 (b:w)

FM 2 (b:w)

FM 3 (b:w)

Going to insert a photo here of John Zacherle and some fans on the WABC-TV set of “Zacherley at Large.” Note the same backdrop. Also note, skeleton foot in foreground!

Zach at large front copy

FM 4 (b:w)

I like this close-up.

FM 4 photo

FM 5 (b:w)

FM 6 (b:w)

BTW, thanks for all the support and kind words from my readers. Glad your enjoying these vintage images. Here’s an image sent to me by Tommy Stanziola who wanted you to see Zach with his zines. Thanks, dude!

Tommy Stanziola

FMoF #7 is next.  Take care!

4 thoughts on “Zacherley – Part 5

  1. Nice job. I worked with Zack during his stay at WNJU-TV on Disc-O-Teen. I am the moderator for the Disc-O-Teen Reunion Group and Facebook pages. Over the years I thought I saw all the press releases and photos but Anne Didio and you have shown me a whole other side of our beloved cool-ghoul.
    Joe L./Tv47

    Like

    • Nice to hear from you, Joe. I’m glad you’re enjoying the posts. All my readers know Zack better than I do. (I grew up in Detroit with Morgus the Magnificent.) The archivist in me feels that this type of material should be shared – and the Internet is a great way to get these documents out there. -Jymn-

      Like

  2. Love the blogs. My twin brother and I loved Zach in the late 50s, and saw him just a couple of year ago, waving his cane and laughing his great baritone laugh from a wheelchair at some horror fair. I can’t find blog #2, but the 4 here are great fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

